As many know, I have started this weight loss journey about 8 months ago.  It something I am finally doing for myself, because I want to.  This has made a huge difference.  My weight loss journey wasn’t started as a New Years resolution, nor because someone said something to me concerning my weight.  When I started my journey I decided exercise was something that needed to be incorporated.  I started slowly, walking a little bit each night.  I then got bold and signed up for the Susan G. Komen 5K!  I finished this 5K in July and was able to raise over $1,600 (thanks to family and friends).

So now that you know a little of the back story I want to tell you about my lovely experience at our local recreation center.  This year my husband and I bought a year membership to our local recreation center. This was mainly due to the winter months (not wanting to walk outside), and I also want to start toning a bit (get rid of my saggy arms).  So this past week it was colder out, so instead of doing my nightly 3mile walk outside I decided to go to the Rec Center.  I have been there before so knew where to go, what to do etc… I got on my favorite treadmill, keyed up my workout, had a great play list playing on my iphone, and was really starting to hit my stride.  I was feeling really good about myself as I was averaging 14min/mile, 1 minute better than I had been doing outside.  2 miles into my walk/run the gentleman (my mom always said if you can’t say something nice…) next to me (who was also on a treadmill probably running his 7th mile at an amazing pace) started to try and get my attention.  At first I was thinking really?!?!  I hate talking on the treadmill, can’t you just let me be.  I ignored his first 2 attempts, after he continued a 3rd time I took out my ear buds to listen.  He looks at me and said so first workout with your New Year’s resolution?

UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I wanted to scream!  So I said the first thing that came to my mind (well maybe the 2nd), no it isn’t for me, but is it for you?  He responded with a sour look on his face, NO! and clued me in on 10 marathons he has already ran.  I just nodded and said oh well I guess we both aren’t resolution seekers.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with those that are starting New Years resolutions.  I just have never had ANY luck with them.  I wonder if this is why I was so pissed.  Or MAYBE I was so pissed as I am 82lbs lost into this journey, have already been working my A** off, already have countless miles walked, have portioned out my meals, consumed more fruits and vegetables the past 8 months than I have in my lifetime, made it a point to plan out my meals, and did I mention I HAVE LOST 82LBS?!?!  So to you Mr. I have run 10 marathons and chose to judge those at the gym.  Go fly a kite and get lost, as you will be seeing my cubby A** at the gym so you better get use to it.

Wow that feels better!  Thanks for listening to my rant.  Maybe I am over sensitive on this issue, but I needed to get it off my chest!  Thanks for reading!

-JJ

