Lately I have a huge fascination with Buffalo sauce.  I put this stuff on everything (hey isn’t that the slogan for Franks?).  Lately I have made buffalo chicken salad, egg rolls, pita pizzas, and lastly buffalo chicken cupcakes.  All have been amazingly great! (some pictures of these items below).

Buffalo Chicken Eggroll

Inside the Egg Roll

Buffalo Chicken Pita Pizza

One helpful thing we do in our house to help the preparation of these items is preparing the chicken.   Every Sunday (the day we grocery shop), my husband and I bake or cook the chicken.  This way we have chicken for the week ready to go for salads, pizza, sandwiches, or whatever else we feel like creating.

Recently I have been cooking the chicken in a pan.  I will add a little EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) to a pan and then add diced up chicken.  Cooking it until it’s no longer pink in the middle and falls apart.

Yesterday I decided to try Buffalo Chicken Cupcakes, I found the original recipe on http://www.emilybites.com (if you haven’t checked this web-site out DO, great WW recipes).  I decided to redo the recipe a bit based off of my tastes and what I had around the house.

The first step would be to cook your chicken, like I stated above my chicken was already prepared for the week, so all I needed to do was add the buffalo sauce to the chicken.

Next, make sure you Pam (or other kind of cooking spray) your cupcake tins.  This will insure that nothing will stick and also helps the egg roll wrappers brown.

Now place an egg roll wrapper in the bottom of the cupcake tin (egg roll wrappers also known as wanton wrappers can be found in your refrigerator section at your grocery store).

Next, add your buffalo sauced chicken.  I was only making these for me, so I divided up 1/2 cup of chicken between two cupcakes.

Lastly, add your cheese!  I love blue cheese and buffalo sauce, so that is what I used.  If you don’t like blue cheese cheddar would also taste great.  As you can see I rolled up the excess wonton wrapper around the egg roll, I thought it looked better and also added to the crispiness of the cupcake.

Now it’s time to bake this buffalo goodness!  I baked mine for 18mins at 375 degrees (make sure you preheat your oven).

Ingredients: (please note the ingredients are for 2 cupcakes, double for 4, triple for   6, you get my drift =)

Cooking Spray

1/2 c cooked boneless, skinless chicken breast, chopped up small

1/4 c  Blue Cheese

2 T Buffalo wing sauce (I used Franks Buffalo)

2 wonton wrappers (typically found in the produce section)

Now for the final final step…..ENJOY!!!  I dipped mine in light ranch dressing…….yumm!

*Also note these are 4 WW points/cupcake  =)

-JJ

