Well today Tuesday, February 28, 2012 is my first FRUSTERATING day on WW; considering I have been on the program since the beginning of May I guess it isn’t the worst thing in the world.  What is troubling me today is a .2lb gain.  Ok, I know what you are thinking .2??? Really Jamie .2, you’re frustrated over something that doesn’t even equal a pound?!!  YES, yes I am!  I have been very committed this week, only ate within my points allowance, worked out EVERY day (and I am not just talking walking around the block, I did the elliptical for 1 mile and then I RAN (yes you heard that right) ran 2 miles each day,  and this past week started lifting weights).  Looking back at what I ate this week, I ate salads, lean proteins, vegetables, chicken, only one day did I get “bad” and had pizza (all of which I counted for).  So yes today I am frustrated!!

I talked with my WW leader after our meeting today; she said it could be due to the fact that I have recently added weight lifting to my workout routine.  My muscles are sore and are probably retaining water to heal.  She said this gain is probably masking a loss due to the water gain.  This did make me feel a bit better, made me feel less like crying.

After returning from my meeting, I reached out to the only person that really understands me, my husband.  I told him about my gain and about my frustration.  How I was frustrated that I stuck to the plan worked my butt off and still gained.  How I was frustrated that some meeting members were talking about their overindulgent weeks and lack of exercise and still lost.  I then told him, I wanted to go home eat a whole pizza and make a cake.  I felt like eating the whole dang thing, if I am going to have a gain I at least want it to be within my control and due to eating something good.

It was at this point where my husband claimed me down and put things back into perspective for me.  He said Jamie, remember how far you have came.  You have lost 95lbs, (at this point, I pointed out that I haven’t lost 95 in fact it’s now 94.8) he said ok well 94.8 you have come so far. You did this by eating right, exercising, and not by comparing yourself to others.  Think about how great you are feeling.  He then reminded me that those items (the pizza and cake I wanted to devour in mass consumption) were the items we have chosen to not make a large part of our lives any more. He pointed out that these items were slowly killing us.  The pizza, cakes, burgers, fries, McDonalds snacks were in fact the bullets that were ever so slowly going to kill us one day.  This really gave me a reality check, he was right (don’t tell him I said that), but it’s true he was right.

So now I am going to take my .2lb gain and run with it!  That’s right, tonight I am going to the gym like I do most nights, and I am going to continue to work my butt off.  Continue to make good choices, and every once and awhile splurge on something in moderation.  I am going to continue on this journey and continue to LIVE!  I have never felt better, and want to continue this.  So I am putting this small gain behind me and I am going to continue to do what I have been doing, I WILL ROCK this week and continue to rock this program.

-JJ

*Thanks to my husband for helping me over this hurdle.

