This past week my husband and I made pita pizzas.  This is a weekly meal in our house.  The great things about these little pizzas is you can add whatever you’d like.  The pizza I made had turkey burger with sauteed mushrooms.  These pizzas are so easy to make, this is how I made mine:

First step is to brown your turkey burger.  We use the lean 97% turkey burger.  With the turkey burger I also added a container of fresh portabella mushrooms.  Also, this is your time to season your turkey.  I add a lot of italian seasonings, this helps it taste more “sausage” like.

After your turkey burger is cooked and seasoned (make sure you drain it), you can construct your pizza.  First add the sauce!  I light mine a little more on the heavy sauced size, but this is up to you (just keep track of your servings if you want this to be points friendly).

After you add your sauce add your toppings (I like to add my toppings before the cheese, this is a personal preference).  This picture shows the yummy sauteed mushrooms!

Lastly, add your cheese!  I only add 1/2 cup of mozzarella to mine (2 servings).  Once again this is one of the things you can alter based off of the number of points you want to use.

Now, it’s time to cook!  In our house we have a pizza oven.  I find with the pizza oven it takes about 8 minutes.  For the oven I would bake these at 350 for about 9 or 10 minutes (depending on how done you’d like it).

The pizza is complete!  Very yummy, and all for you to enjoy (or I guess you could share).

I like to cut mine until 8 small slices, I feel like I am eating more =)

Enjoy your pita pizzas!  There are tons of variations you can make.  As of now I have made BBQ chicken, buffalo chicken, turkey pepperoni, veggie, Italian chicken, and hawaiian pita pizzas (the possiblities are endless).  Let me know what pita pizzas you try.

Ingredients:
1 large pita (or medium depending on what you’d like)
1/3 lb turkey burger (97% lean)
1/2 cup portabella mushrooms
1/4 cup pizza sauce
1/2 cup 2% shredded Mozzarella cheese
*Please note the ingredients above are for 1 pizza, double for two, triple for 3…you get my drift =).  Based off of the ingredients above, this pita pizza will equal 13 points plus, that is using a large pita.   (just alter cheese, toppings and pita size for power points),

Enjoy!

-JJ

 

 

