I noticed I have been slacking in the blog department.  I am putting the blame on summer!  It’s been an amazing summer so far (and it’s just started).  Summer is by far my favorite time of the year.  I love the warm temps, my workload is a lot less, and I get to spend some time with family and friends.  Two weekends ago some of Dana’s family was in town.  We spent the weekend sightseeing and enjoying each other’s company.

Me, Dana, Uncle Mike, Aunt Denise, Grandpa and Grandma Johnston

Grandpa and Grandma Johnston enjoying the skyline.

This past weekend my husband and I had tickets for the Indian’s Vs. Twins.  We were at Progressive Field (Indians Stadium), but Twins fans.

My husband is originally from Minnesota, and I joined as a fan last year when we went to our first game together.

We had an amazing time!  We decided this will be an annual thing we do, as last year we did the same thing.  This year makes it our second annual twins vs. Indians weekend.

We took some fun pictures together, some hamming it up before the game.

Some while at the game.

And some pictures just for the heck of it.

Beautiful sunset!

Saturday’s game even had FIREWORKS!!

As you can tell a goodtime was had.  It always was nice as the Twins won both games we were at (sorry Indian fans).

With summer comes a lot of vacation time.  This week I am heading to the Chicago area for a wedding.  A high school friend of mine is getting married.  Unfortunately Dana didn’t have the time to take off work, so fortunately my mom is going with me! My mom lives in WI and I live in OH, we haven’t had a girl’s weekend in forever.  We plan on attending the wedding and then spending some time in Chicago!  As an added bonus I get to see a college friend Thursday night (she lives in the area where the wedding is) and I get to see some of my favorite high school friends!!

Along with the vacation time and summer fun come some challenges……FOOD, lots of great FOOD!  I am trying my best to control my portions, as well as what I am putting into my face.  This past weekend at the game we had club seats which included all you could eat and drink (non-alcoholic drinks).  I made sure to run every day this week (3 miles).  I was good at watching what I ate all week, but did enjoy myself at the game.  I hope everything evens out on the scale.

I am definitely going to continue my exercise routine while on vacations.  I plan on bringing my workout clothes this weekend for girl’s weekend.  I will use the hotels exercise facility in the morning.  I am also going to enjoy myself and some of the great food in the Chicago area.

I find with this summer my best plan is just that to plan things out!  I hope to continue with my successes this summer.  We have a big vacation coming up in July (2 weeks off yesssss).  I have some goals I would like to reach before this trip.

I hope you are all having a great start to your summer.  Sorry I have been MIA, I am still here.  Still working my plan and getting ready to run my first 5k in July.  I will try to post more.

-JJ

