Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello friends!!  I am so very sorry I am just posting now.  I wanted to post right after my 1/2 marathon but was very busy with family time!!  My parents made the trip up from Wisconsin, so I wanted to be sure to spend every second I could with them.  After that my Best Friend Rachel and her daughter visited us for a weekend, and then…… I flew to Wisconsin for my cousin’s bacholorette party Wheewwwwwww I ‘ve been busy.

Enough of that….. SO I COMPLETED MY FIRST EVERY 1/2 MARATHON.  Yes I know I used all caps, that’s because I AM yelling it =)  It was one of the post amazing experiences of my life.  I honestly don’t know how to sum it up, actually I can’t!!  So I will share some pictures with you all in hopes that they captured some of the excitement of the day =)

Getting my coffee ready, it's 4 am I need a little pick me up!

Getting my coffee ready, it’s 4 am I need a little pick me up!

All smiles with my coffee at 4 am!

All smiles with my coffee at 4 am!

My before run (long run) breakfast!  Yummy greek yogurt and strawberries.

My before run (long run) breakfast! Yummy greek yogurt and strawberries.

 

Locket that has my grandma and grandpa Hornke's ashes, to keep with me during the race.

Locket that has my grandma and grandpa Hornke’s ashes, to keep with me during the race.

 

Grandma and grandpa's locket going into the zipper back of my pants, I needed these folks with me!

Grandma and grandpa’s locket going into the zipper back of my pants, I needed these folks with me!

 

 

My running shoes, AKA the Cheetah wheels!

My running shoes, AKA the Cheetah wheels!

A quick banana before the race, need to fuel up!

A quick banana before the race, need to fuel up!

Mom and Dad, hugs before the race.

Mom and Dad, hugs before the race.

My nervous before race face!

My nervous before race face!

I was flippin nervous before the race.  Then my friends Jess and Kcey joined me, this moment was awesome!  These great ladies started the race with me =)

I was flippin nervous before the race. Then my friends Jess and Kcey joined me, this moment was awesome! These great ladies started the race with me =)

Alright I am ready for this thing, let's go!!!

Alright I am ready for this thing, let’s go!!!

OMG!  Look at all the people running this thing.

OMG! Look at all the people running this thing.

Dana cheering me on!

Dana (my amazing husband) cheering me on!

Just about to finish this thing, I am floating!!

Just about to finish this thing, I am floating!!

Pointing to my amazing family as I finish.

Pointing to my amazing family as I finish.

My friend Stephanie, it was her birthday and she still met me at the start and the finish.  What an amazing supportive friend.

My friend Stephanie, it was her birthday and she still met me at the start and the finish. What an amazing supportive friend.

My husband and I after the race, I am not sure who has the bigger smile here =)

My husband and I after the race, I am not sure who has the bigger smile here =)

My awesome supportive family after the race!  Thanks Mom and Dad for coming from WI to watch me run!

My awesome supportive family after the race! Thanks Mom and Dad for coming from WI to watch me run!

Thanks Cleveland for the AMAZING experience!

Thanks Cleveland for the AMAZING experience!

Let's make this official!  13.1 sticker (in pink of course) for my truck =)

Let’s make this official! 13.1 sticker (in pink of course) for my truck =)

My finisher certificate!  I completed my goal of finishing under 2 hours and actually placed in the top 10% of my age group, top 20% for the whole 1/2 marathon!

My finisher certificate! I completed my goal of finishing under 2 hours and actually placed in the top 10% of my age group, top 20% for the whole 1/2 marathon!

Thank you all for sharing this amazing experience with me.  After putting this post together I am still smiling for ear to ear =)  

Thanks again to my family and friends for the amazing love and support they have given me as I have trained for this race.  Thank you to my amazing husband for consistently being my rock, I couldn’t have done this without your continued love and support.  Also thank you from the bottom of my heart to the people of Cleveland, your love and support through  various media WAS amazing.

-Jamie 

