Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello all!

I have been a terrible blogger (yes I know I have said this before).  Summer has been so busy and wonderful =).  Now the temps are changing and it feels like fall!  I love FALL!!  I got ambitions this week and made a few new fall recipes.  I am happy to say these recipes were made and created by yours truly, yep ideas from my head.  I am pretty impressed on how they turned out.  I hope you like them as much as I did.

Also, I have been posting a lot on  my newly created facebook page.  So if you are interested check it out and give it a like =)  Click HERE or follow this link https://www.facebook.com/JamieJohnstonsJourney

Back to the Fall recipes =)

Fall Harvest Cookies

photo

3 ½ Cups Quick Oats

2 Cups Pumpkin Puree (make sure it’s puree not pie filling)

2 very ripe mashed bananas

4 medium size apples

Splenda to taste

Pumpkin pie spice to taste

Cinnamon to taste

Cooking spray (I used pam)

Preheat oven to 350.  Peel and core apples, cutting into small pieces toss the apple pieces in a large mixing bowl with splenda (or other sweetener of choice) and cinnamon.  Add mashed bananas, pumpkin puree, quick oats and stir.  Add pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon to your liking (it’s ok to taste the “dough”).

Place cookies on a large cookie sheet that is sprayed with pam (or cooking spray of choice) as these will stick! The cookie “dough” should be thick not runny, if you find it runny add more quick oats, this could be due to the size of the bananas.

Bake for 18 minutes at 350. Keep in mind these cookies WILL NOT expand so no need to space them out much on the cookie sheet. This recipe made 30 cookies for me, this of course will change based on the size of the cookie you make.

** When I originally made these I did add a ½ cup of sugar free maple syrup, I can’t taste it at all so would skip this, maybe this could be used to make a glaze for the top?  Sugar free syrup, almond milk, and a little powdered sugar?

** These cookies are great!  Keep in mind you can add your own mix-ins!  Other mix-ins I have considered: nuts, raisins, craisins, chocolate chips, chia seeds, flax seeds, the possibilities are really endless.  I have also made a version of this recipe without the pumpkin, just increasing the # of bananas used.

Happy baking!  Let me know if you try them =)

Stuffed Acorn Squash

photo(1)

1 Acorn Squash

½ cup of sugar free maple syrup

2 apples of choice (I used pink lady)

4 Alfresco Apple/Maple Chicken Sausage links

Splenda

Cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut your acorn squash in half, scoop out seeds and set aside. Peel and core apples, cutting into small pieces.  Cut up 4 chicken sausage links into bite size pieces.  Spray cooking pan with pam.  Add apple pieces, chicken sausage bites, splenda and cinnamon to pan (as much of these seasonings as you’d like).  Cook until the apples and sausage are browned (about 3 minutes).

Take halved acorn squash and add ¼ cup sugar free maple syrup to each half.  Add ½ of apple/chicken sausage mixture to each halved squash.  Bake in tin foiled cooking dish or cookie sheet.  Bake approximately 1 hour at 350 depending on the size of your squash.  Test squash with folk to see if its done to your liking. Can be served in squash or scooped out.

This recipe makes 2 servings, ½ of squash per serving.

Hope you enjoy this fall dinner as much as I did!

Have a wonderful day everyone.  I hope Fall gives me a bit more time to update you all =)

XX,

Jamie

 

 

 

