Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well we are just about 3 weeks out from the Cleveland Marathon…….SERIOUSLY!!  You wouldn’t guess that by the 40 degree temps we are experiencing today, but summer is just round the corner right???

Training has been consistent, which I guess is a good thing =)  I didn’t get to my long run last weekend due to the painting of our garage and some SERIOUSLY sore legs/body.  Usually this would throw me for a loop, making me stressed however back to the BALANCE thing I discussed last time….I am discovering it more and more and becoming OK when life happens.

As I am sure many of you are aware this past Monday was the Boston Marathon.  I couldn’t help but find myself glued to the computer screen cheering on some dear friends and my favorite elite runner Shalane Flanagan.  I then thought to myself DANG who am I???  Here I am watching a running event and loving every second of it.  Never in a million years would I think I would be a runner better yet one that has participated in many 5k’s, 2 half marathons, 1 marathon and in the midst of training for my 3rd half.  I started to think to myself why I love running so much and decided to generate a list =)  I thought this would be something fun to remind us all why we are here, as with just 3 weeks before the marathon we could be feeling UGHHHHHHHH, AHHHHHHHHHH, stressed, wondering why we signed up, or just dang excited!  So here it goes the reasons I love running:

15.) I love to run because I have the BEST supporters =)

My Dad being able to PICK ME UP and hug me after my first FULL!

My Dad being able to PICK ME UP and hug me after my first FULL!

My amazing family making me cupcakes before my first full =)

My amazing family making me cupcakes before my first full =)

14.) I love running in the early mornings, before the world really wakes up.  This has given me the opportunity to witness some of the most amazing sunsets!

13.)  I love to eat!!  Running allows me to splurge now and then, while still keeping my fitness goals!

Wisconsin Cheese Curds, NOTHING like them =)

Wisconsin Cheese Curds, NOTHING like them =)

Yep....proof, I LOVE a s'more =)

Yep….proof, I LOVE a s’more =)

I did sample some beer on vacation, and ENJOYED it!

I did sample some beer on vacation, and ENJOYED it!

Cleveland Half 2013 (first ever half) celebration cupcake!

Cleveland Half 2013 (first ever half) celebration cupcake!

IMG_2206

12.)  Running has brought my husband and I closer together!  No he isn’t a runner BUT he’s the BEST dang supporter EVER.  During marathon training he has followed me step by step riding his bike, never complaining about the early mornings or the numerous 5k races.  He’s always there with a smile and the camera =)

Dana and I after a 5K.

Dana and I after a 5K.

Best supporter, there for EVERY long run!

Best supporter, there for EVERY long run!

11.) Through running I have met the most amazing BUDDY EVER!!  I get to run and dedicate my miles to Rylan!  Interested in this program check it out at: http://www.whoirun4.com/

Rylan, wishing me luck for the race!

Rylan, wishing me luck for the race!

I finished!!! CUPCAKE TIME, that's my BUDDY!!!!

I finished!!! CUPCAKE TIME, that’s my BUDDY!!!!

Poster my buddy made for me =)

Poster my buddy made for me =)

Awesome shirt my buddy Rylan and his family sent me!

Awesome shirt my buddy Rylan and his family sent me!

10.) It allows me to clear my head, shake off the crazy.

IMG_2040

9.) Running is something I can enjoy alone or with some lovely running company.

IMG_1823

8.) A run is always there waiting for you!  Either you chose to lace up and experience it or you don’t.

7.) You seriously never regret running!

6.) It doesn’t matter what you look like, running doesn’t care.

Feeling like death after the Akron full, thanks Mom for this outstanding picture!

Feeling like death after the Akron full, thanks Mom for this outstanding picture!

5.) Running has let me rock my favorite color (PINK)  NUMEROUS times.

first medal

4.) Through the love of working out and running I have met some seriously AMAZING lifelong friends.

Great friends I met at our local Rec Center, now some of my very dear friends =)

Great friends I met at our local Rec Center, now some of my very dear friends =)

IMG_2626

IMG_2562

3.) You discover what your body is capable of doing, which is pretty dang amazing….always keeping in mind your head will give out long before your legs will.

Finishing my first EVER full, had to own that finish!

Finishing my first EVER full, had to own that finish!

2.) I LOVE running clothes, yep seriously addicted (especially lululemon).

IMG_1986

1.) Running has helped me transform my body, assisting in my 180lb weight loss.  Not only losing it BUT keeping it off!!

Just about 4 short years ago, this was me!

Just about 4 short years ago, this was me!

What about you?? Why do you LOVE running???

