Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Monday all!  That is kind of an oxymoron but heck it’s Monday and well my Monday has been pretty fantastic.  I finished up my last interval run before the Cleveland Marathon!!  Intervals are never easy BUT they really pay off!!  Then something AMAZING happened, but first I need to share a little bit of back story…… Grab your carpet square and try to stay with mer, I promise it will be worth it!

So as many of you know about 5 years ago I decided to make a lifestyle change.  I joined weight watchers and started to focus on my health.  Weight Watchers taught me all about portion control, how to eat healthy and how to create a healthy lifestyle.  Weight Watchers was just what I needed at the time, and the perfect start.  I lost most of my weight in the first 3 years I was on the program.  Then you could say I kind of hit a wall.

My weight didn’t change too much and I would add and lose the same 10+ pounds, sometimes 20 (the holidays though…).  However something not so good was also happening.  As many know Weight Watchers focuses on points.  The higher the points a food item is the less you have to eat the rest of the day.  So in my head it started, high points = BAD stay away from that.  Then I started to save points, because if I don’t eat all my points well that should be good right??  I will lose more and make it to my goal weight.

Well, I played the point game and tried so hard to lose the last 10-20 pounds, and got close so many times BUT really wasn’t doing it the right way OR HEALTHY.  My head started to also play games with me, still focusing on high points IS BAD.  I also found myself not eating many carbs, because those aren’t that great either right???

This past Christmas I decided something needed to change.  I was sick of not making progress and KNEW if I wanted to do better with running, I needed to slim down BUT Weight Watchers really wasn’t my answer anymore.  So I QUIT, I quit weight watchers.  The program that got me started, my security blanket. What I had known for about 5 years…

I decided to work with a coach and start marco counting.  This was exactly what I needed.  Food no longer had a points number, it was just a combination of carbs, protein, fat and calories.  I could can play with different food items and fit them into my day  however I’d like (I’d like to note if you are doing WW the right way this is also possible, but I NEEDED A CHANGE). After starting with this new program I started to feel re-energized….I also was eating CARBS!  This new program not only helped me start seeing results on the scale BUT my running has been stronger, who knew carbs were a runners best friend.

So I struggled on how to tell everyone that I quit WW, as it IS AN AMAZING program…I just needed a change!  So now that I got that off my chest  (thanks for sticking with me here), gosh that feels great …

NOW I HAVE SOME NEWS TO SHARE!  THE REASON BEHIND THIS FACE…

13087032_10100111302446384_7528540479274815284_o

Today, after my run…. today is my weigh in day.  I hit the scale like I do EVERY Tuesday and GUESS WHAT…. GUESS WHAT?!?!?!?  I HIT MY DANG GOAL WEIGHT!!!  YES!!!  The weight that I set as my goal about 5 years ago….I FRICKEN HIT IT!!!!!  I am not going to lie, as I stared at the number on the scale I did expect some magical things to happen…… I mean I have been doing this thing for over 5 years…WHERE’S THE CONFETTI???? FIREWORKS???? FLOWERS FALLING FROM THE SKY…ANYTHING???? COME ON GOD JUST MAYBE A PARTY POPPER???

It only took 5 years and some serious struggles!

39c918e7f74ad795b2aa4f1edc30bec1

I am not sure now if this is where I will stay, or what I am really comfortable with BUT I can figure that all out FOR NOW, I WILL CELEBRATE!! WHICH REMINDS ME….. I think someone AHEMMMMMM DANA said he’d take me shopping in NYC when I hit my goal, I might need to remind him.

Thanks for all your support friends, and thanks for sticking with this log DRAMATIC post =)  I also need God to work on that confetti for moments like today 😉

Happy Monday indeed!

XX,

Jamie

