Fox Communities Marathon Recap…. and then some =)

Happy Tuesday!!!  I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am to be sitting here, out on our patio still in comfortable clothes, drinking my coffee, and just relaxing!!!!  As you all know Sunday I took on 26.2 miles as part of the Fox Communities Marathon, overall a darn amazing day HOWEVER let’s address the elephant in the room (well blog space) I didn’t get my time goal….but oddly I am ok with that.  So let’s hash this thing out and break it down shall we =)

Race Morning:

I woke up at 3:00am to eat some oatmeal, I wanted this to be in my system and digested before the race.  After eating this I went back to bed for a few more minutes as I knew the alarm wold be going off at 4:30.

4:30am the alarm went off and everyone in the house started to get ready.  Mom was even so on top of things, she took a nice shower and did her dang hair/make-up.  I slowly got myself together, which didn’t take me too long as I had all my stuff laid out the night before.

As I have said many MANY of times, race morning I am 99.9% an ASSHOLE.  Seriously I should be punched in the face, but the fact is most people are too scared to even get that close to me.  However, I really don’t think I was that much of an asshole this morning.  My family may think otherwise but I think for the post part I was smiling and not being a rude asshole, so that goal was accomplished =)

We made our way downtown and picked up my mother in-law at her hotel (YES my in-laws came from MN, this seriously was a huge highlight of the weekend).  We then arrived at the race start around 6:15am.  This is when my usual race day anxiety started to kick in, yep this is happening…..oh my gosh 26.2 miles is so long!!!  The anxiety wasn’t as bad as some of my family and friend started to come around and say hello.  Uncle Mike and Aunt Cathy arrived, they were all smiles and even had some awesome run Jamie run shirts on.  Then my friend Kelly who I hadn’t seen in forever showed up with her daughter Taylor, wow that was awesome!!  This all helped my mind a bit.

14324249_10208954721757638_6024840923589814055_o

This pretty much sums up my nervousness… 

At the start of the race the race director greeted everyone, BUT also let us know that it was going to be hot out on the course.  He said the temps were low but as we progressed we would be in the 70’s OH AND HE ALSO TOLD US THE HUMIDITY WAS 90%….I don’t think I wanted to know that….so I tried to push that out of my head, ain’t no body got time for that sh*T.

The National Anthem played, I said my pre-race prayer and before I knew it I was off and on the road.

Miles 1-5

These mies are interesting.  You have the excitement of the start but also the realization that you have 26 miles to run.  These miles did go pretty fast, and I tried to keep my mind clear as it kept trying to remind me that I had about 3+ hours of running ahead of me.  I saw the 3:25 pacer, he seemed nice and my legs seemed really good soooo yea let’s stick with him…..I introduced myself to the group following this pacer at about mile 4, I figured I was making a commitment to stick with them, so I better say hello.

These miles were the best paced miles of the race coming in around 7:30-7:40 per mile.

Miles 6-13

Everything was feeling good at this point.  I was following my little pace group, listening to my jams and somewhat enjoying life.  I could feel my tight hamstrings reminding me of their tightness every now and then but overall life was pretty good.

Somewhere in this group of miles I see my dear friend Melissa.  Now I can’t even tell you where she all was during the race, as I feel like I got to see her EVERYWHERE.  I can’t thank this girl enough.  She had a busy day and took the time to come encourage me, support me, and really seriously gave me the extra push AT MANY MILES throughout the race.

14362534_10100155572064714_3335966357515263851_o

You Melissa are a true amazing friend, I can’t thank you enough.  You were everywhere on that course! 

Around mile 12, there was a bit of a hill.  While climbing this hill I thought, welppppp this isn’t a flat course, and oohhhhhh helllllooooooo tight hamstrings.  Then I heard my name being YELLED, it was my MOM!!!  I looked and she was there with her loud ass cowbell yelling my name and running along side me.  This was just what I needed and OMG it’s my mom at mile 12…THIS IS AWESOME!

14409938_10100155829024764_6613348253298411023_o

This picture is amazing!!  Mom pushing me through mile 12.  

I then see my Aunt Cathy….OMG this also is awesome!!!  I wave and feel my heart filled with so much joy!

img_2896

Mom and Aunt Cathy! 

At this mile my mom’s work was also set-up for a water stop.  It was so very nice to see Women’s Speciality Care out on the course, they all knew my name and were YELLING IT!  Thanks for making me feel like a VIP ladies, also this location was awesome as you could see their awesome sign as you rounded the corner.

I hit mile 13 strong.  Looking at the clock for the 1/2 way point I realized I had just crushed my fastest half marathon….AWESOME BUT waittttt is that awesome or did I start out too fast?!?!  So much to think about!

Right around this mile marker I see a lady wearing a pink shirt on a megaphone….WTHHHHHH this lady is craazz…..wait, wait that’s my Aunt Sue!  Oh man she is yelling her praises at me.  I couldn’t help but laugh and smile, this was just awesome!

Miles 14-18

I realized at this point I was so focused on my little pace group and awesome excitement that I hadn’t fueled AT ALL.  SH#T that’s probably NOT good.  I reached into my bra (yes I am that classy, hey it has these little pockets in it for gels THANKS LULULEMON).  I start my first salted caramel gel….ughhhh it tastes like crud today and it’s extra warm….yuck.  I manage to choke it down…

At first I thought my stomach was feeling good, at one point I even lifted my hands to the air and praised the Imodium I started taking at noon the day before.  Then at mile 15ish the damn wheels came off.  My stomach dropped…I NEEDED a port-o-potty STAT!  Luckily there was one.  I was fast, off came the pants…. I did my thing…back on the road.  I was so fast that I could still see my little pace group up ahead of me.  Perfect they are within sight!  It was at this point I probably made a terrible decision.  I decided I would try and get back with my pace group.  BAD JAMIE BAD!!!!!! Miles 15-18 were spent trying to gain ground and get back to my new peeps……I did get close but never reached them.

Miles 18-22

At this point I realized it was ok, I wash’t going to make it with my pace group and I still had a chance of hitting my goal time.  However at this point, my fast half and my last few miles of playing cat and mouse were starting to take a toll on my body and legs.  I wasn’t feeling fantastic AT ALL.

Then I got exactly what I needed, a small pick me up!  I saw Cori, Kevin, and Angela!  They were all wearing run Jamie run shirts and yelling….YES YES YES!!!  I managed to high five Kevin and kept pushing forward.

14333059_10153772508166286_1048620011530404163_n

I was feeling pretty great at this point.  Then I had a volunteer coming running up to me….all I could hear was Jamie, Jamie….your grandma is here she is waiting for you.  I was thinking what?!?!?  Is she serious?!?!  Sure enough there was my GRANDMA WITH A SIGN!!!!!!  OMG MY GRANDMA IS HERE….MY GRANDMA IS AT MY MARATHON WATCHING ME RUN!!!  The volunteer even held a sign that said grandpa loves you (as he wasn’t feeling the best).  I did my best to blow a kiss to grandma, made it a bit down the road and felt the need to yell with everything I had… I LOVE YOU GRANDMA (as seriously how many times does anyone get to experience this exact moment).

Mile 18 had me feeling so good, at this point I needed more fuel as I had been sucking in that department.  I took one of my huma blueberry gels….yep tasted like butt….I usually LOVE these but my body was NOT feeling it today.  I took about 1/2 of it and tossed the rest….this will haunt me later in many ways.

Right after mile 18 I see my dear friend Mike!  Mike is like a brother to me, he was sitting there chilling in a lawn chair drinking some coffee.  I think he said something like you are kicking so much ass keep going….this was awesome!

Right around mile 20 that 1/2 a gel I had haunted me….. where the F* is a big blue port-o-potty I need it now….luckily I find one.  Once again feel I am pretty fast and make my way back out to the road.  At this point the sun is baring down on me and there is NO SHADE.

20-22 were hell miles, I hit the damn wall.  My lack of fueling properly was haunting me, the heat was killing me, and ummmmmm that super fast first 1/2 was saying ohhhhhh remember me…WHY DID YOU DO THAT?!?!  During these miles I reached a dark place and various things went through my head things like…… You know you could call Dana and he would come get you, welllllppppp it looks like this thing is going to take you about 5-6 hours to finish, WOW all that training and you are sucking this up big time real nice, all your family came here to watch you hit this goal and you suck, why do you suck so much right now……FFFFFFFFFFFF THAT FFFFFFFFF THAT….

I had run through what seemed to be a prairie at this point, with the sun just beating down.

14344106_10153642295526292_577262063544203966_n-2

Then I heard my name…omg it’s my girl Andrea and she is yelling all kinds of great stuff at me.  She is taking this negative talk and helping me move out of the basement and into positive land.  ANDREA you were at the PERFECT spot!!

Miles 22-24 

At this point I stopped the negative talk and got my shit together.  Seriously I am out running a damn marathon, my 4th marathon in fact and I still was managing a pretty respectable time…. embrace the suck and move the fu#k forward Jamie!

Around mile 23 I saw uncle rick, aunt terry, and aunt mary.  It was so nice to have my own personal cheering crowd at this point in the race.  They were all smiles and looking fantastic.  My uncle rick even used his wheel chair to come right out and give me a highfive….. ok if uncle rick and survive a brain injury and be out here, I can do this thing.

Right around this point I hear another loud friend, my friend AMBER is here!!!  WOW, she is so loud I love it.  I knew she’d be at the perfect point in the race and nothing has changed about her, I can hear her as clear as day.  I was almost in tears as I remembered the last time I saw this girl was in college….so much has changed since then and here she is supporting me.

At mile 24 it happened again…. big blue and I were reunited and I was quick to get back on the course.

heller_potty1

When I popped out of big blue I was passed by the 3:35 pacer.  I knew at this point a BQ 100% wasn’t in the cards for today…. my heart did sink a bit.  Then I thought really, you are going to be in the final 2 miles of a marathon all upset because of a time…nope NOT TODAY, you have ran a marathon in the heat killing it….no time to booooohooooo about it, F* that.

Miles 24- finish 

Well right around mile 23-25ish the race went over bridges…oh awesome, talk about heat and sun…. WTHHHHHHHHHH.  I managed to push on, my body was hating me….my fueling and lack there of was hating me…… I needed more water……

I rounded mile 25 and got to see aunt sue again, this made me smile.  I then saw Kelly and Taylor, they were cheering so loud I think it gave me a little push.  I started into mile 26 and see this big guy in camo crocks running at me….what the hell, it’s my dad…what are you doing I think.  He is running along side telling me to kick it in the ass and finish strong.  OMG dad please don’t hurt yourself…..why don’t you kick it in the ass buddy, you didn’t just run over 25 miles….but wait…it’s my dad and he is helping me finish….THIS IS AWESOME!!!!

I cross the finish line strong.  Looking at the time 3:41….nope not that BQ I was hoping for but A DAMN GOOD TIME, and omg look at all the amazing miles I just put in!

Finish

At this point I feel like death…serious death.  I am dehydrated, I didn’t fuel right…..omg where is my husband.  I see him, I see my hero…. I see he is yelling #4, #4 as he is just so proud that I finished my 4th marathon.  At this point he scoops me up and helps me lay on the ground.  I look up and my whole dang family is fanning me……my whole family, with fans above me……alright I may be 1/2 dead but this is awesome…..

 

********I think this is the perfect point to end this blog post, there is another one coming to finish off some thoughts…..

